Nintendo Book Tag

Hello you guys, I’m here with the Nintendo Book Tag that was created by Sam at Nonsense and Novels. I saw the tag on Katytastic’s channel and I just knew I had to do this tag. I don’t have a YouTube channel so I thought I’d answer the questions on my blog since this blog is not only for my deep and harrowing feels, but also for book-related stuff.

I think my first Nintendo device was an N64, and then I moved onto the GameBoy and the GameCube, and then my DS and Wii. Because of my ‘history’ with Nintendo and Nintendo-related stuff I thought I’d do the tag.

There are 12 questions so let’s get started:

  1. NES (Nintendo Entertainment System): A Classic you want to read Off the top of my head, I really want to read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. A few years ago, I remember standing in the classics section at the bookstore and they had this amazing leather-bound hardcover copy of Jane Eyre and I picked it up but my dad said I was too young and had to wait a little. Ever since then, I haven’t had a chance to pick it up and read it but it’s there, sitting silently on my TBR pile, waiting to be read. I also really want to read Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden; it was only published in 1997 so I don’t know if it can be considered a classic.
  2. SNES (Super Nintendo): A sequel you liked more than the first (can be a 2nd book in a series) I’d have to go with P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. This is the sequel to To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and the second book in the duology. I absolutely loved P.S. I Still Love You, a lot more than To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, because the writing was stepped up a notch (okay, multiple notches); the characters expressed a lot more emotion and were a lot more complex, there were refreshing new characters and the plot development was amazing.
  3. Nintendo 64: A book that revolutionized the way you look at the world I could say The St. Clare series by Enid Blyton, or some of The Hardy Boys books, or the Harry Potter series, but I won’t. I’ll choose Chicka Chicka Boom Boom because this was the first book I read on my own, without my mom or dad reading it out to me. It revolutionized the way I look at the world because it introduced me to a world of reading and books and just all this awesomeness that was waiting for me. After reading this book, I dived head-first into a world where I’d live a thousand lives and feel a thousand emotions.
  4. GameCube: A popular book that did not go over so well with you (to be honest, I don’t like this one in particular because I liked the GameCube) I have been looking for something like this so I can rant; the book I’m choosing is Holes by Louis Sachar. I first read Cardturner by him and I really enjoyed it so I went and looked him up and he was known for Holes. I read such great things and everybody loved it so I made my mom drive me to book store so that I could pick up a copy. I was only rewarded with disappointment. The characters and plot went through no development; it was so flat. I hated it and I’d never been more disappointed with this. Another book I thought I’d mention is Looking for Alaska by John Green.
  5. Wii: A new favorite book I’d have to go with Clockwork Princess, the third and final installment in The Infernal Devices trilogy. The entire trilogy was amazing and the writing and story only got better as the books moved on. That is why Clockwork Princess is one of my new favorite books.
  6. Nintendo Power: Favorite graphic novel series or series you want to start I’m Indian so the household I grew up in exposed me to Indian graphic novels known as Amar Chitra Katha which were stories of different legends and figures in Hinduism and Indian history. On a side note, I’d like to ready The Wicked + The Divine.
  7. Super Mario: A character you’d like to squish like a Goomba There are so many characters that I’d like to squish like Goombas but I’m going to go with Dolores Umbridge from Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix. The toad-like, always-wearing-pink, Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher pissed the shit out of me. She was so irritating and didn’t believe anybody when they said anything and would never teach and she’d torture people. I was so happy when she got taken away by those centaurs.
  8. Zelda: A newer fantasy that you consider a modern classic I’d choose The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. This series has done so well; the number of Jace and Clary fanclubs on Tumblr and Instagram is crazy. Shadowhunters and Downworlders have made a mark of their own on the Young Adult genre, and the TV show that’s starting in 2016 has already generated so much buzz.
  9. Samas-Aran: Favorite Sci-Fi novel or one you want to read I absolutely loved The Giver by Lois Lowry. I loved the society she’d built and her writing was spectacular. I’d never read anything like The Giver and the pre-determined kind of society portrayed was so unique I was instantly hooked. That kind of society paved the way for a lot of books that were set in that kind of society, for example the Matched trilogy by Ally Condie (which I also really liked). There are two more sci-fi books I really want to get on to; The Martian by Andy Weir (the trailer looks freakin’ awesome) and Cinder and the rest of The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Mayer.
  10. Pokemon: Book editions you want to collect I want to collect the hardback copies of the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella. I also want the hardback copies of The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. There are so many more books I want to collect but these are all I can think of.
  11. Donkey Kong: A book with original characters I have to go with A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I read this in 7th, and even though I didn’t understand a bit of it because of the writing, I have not read about more original characters. Marley and his chains, past Scrooge, present Scrooge and future Scrooge were all written so well and with so much originality. Though I didn’t like the book for its story, its characters will always remain with me.
  12. Nintendo Fandom: Favorite Nintendo game(s) or game(s) you really want Easiest question of the lot. Favorites have to be the Mario franchise, Zelda franchise, Super Smash Bros, Okami, Animal Crossing and Cooking Mama for the DS. I haven’t played the Wii or with any of my Nintendo gadgets in a while so there’s nothing I really want right now.

That’s all for this tag. I hope you enjoyed it! Let me know whether you’ve done the tag. I tag all of you guys to do this and leave me a link so I can compare answers. More book tags to come! 🙂

One thought on “Nintendo Book Tag

Leave a Reply

