t w o

We are halfway through the month, and halfway through the first month of my last year at high school. We started a week earlier than the other students so that we’d get extra academic time, and whatnot. It’s too early to say that I’m having issues with or am hating senior year right now, and I feel like I won’t say those words anytime during the year.

I’ve really gotten into the swing of things already; a fit schedule that allows me an apt amount of time to do my school work, read, and pursue my other hobbies, like Bharatanatyam. I’m very excited because I get to perform next month at a festival my teacher is organizing. It’s a big deal because it may be my last performance in my high school career.

Over the summer, I had a lot of time to reflect on all the things that I’d done wrong in 11th grade. I didn’t have my priorities straight, I wasn’t focused and I didn’t manage my time well. So, as summer came to an end, I made a Senior Year Resolution – all the things I planned to do right this year (because better late than never, am I right?).

It didn’t take me very long to come up with resolutions but the difficult task was to choose the ones that were most important to me, made the most sense and were most beneficial to me. I finally came up with these:

  1. School work will take precedence over everything. I can watch the occasional movie or go out with my friends and family but never at the cost of school work.
  2. Create a schedule everyday to make the most of the time available.

Even though I narrowed it down to only two, the resolutions really embodied what I was trying to do right this year. It’s worked so far, but I will have to log my progress as the year goes by, and I promised myself I’d make a concious effort to stick to my resolutions.

In other news, my SAT preparation has been going great. I’m getting really high scores and I keep improving with each test (except for the occasional one where I was brain-dead but still decided to take the test). Practicing over the summer has been of great help because I had a lot more time to focus on my SAT prep. Reading has been the biggest help because my critical reading scores have shot through the roof, and that’s a huge morale boost for me. Side note: I even have a sticky note, amongst others, with my desired SAT scores – a huge motivator for me. It’s nice to look at when I’m feeling unsure or don’t feel in the mood.

So, the weekend before school started, I signed up for the CommonApp that I’d use for university applications. I was looking at some of the essay prompts and one college, I won’t say which, had a very interesting prompt: required reading that I’ve really enjoyed. It actually got me thinking; very rarely do students enjoy the required reading for their English class, and I’m one of those students, but some of the reading I had to do for my English HL course was actually quite enjoyable.

Firstly, I enjoyed The Color Purple by Alice Walker. It was disturbing and had some very visual stuff but I admired the story and the tenacity of the main character, Celie. She undergoes a major transformation where she starts off as a meek, helpless girl who’s forced into an abusive marriage, but by the end of the book, she’s a strong, emotionally and financially independent woman. I also enjoyed the writing style – epistolary writing, or writing in the form of diary entries.

The second book (play, actually) I enjoyed was Antigone by Sophocles. This was the first of the three books I was doing for my World Literature study. This book did infuriate me in some bits, but I have to say, I really liked Antigone by the end of the play because she stood up for what she believed in and what she believed was right, despite the consequences that would follow. I think that is something we can carry forward, even into the 21st century. It is so important to stand up for what you believe in, no matter what the world says, and Antigone really taught us that lesson.

The last book I enjoyed was Snow Country by Japanese author and Nobel Prize winner, Yasunari Kawabata. This was the third book in my World Literature study, and I’m even doing my written assignment on this book. I didn’t quite get the story, but the writing was captivating. Kawabata describes the setting and characters with such detail, you couldn’t help but read forward to learn more about this snow country that the story was set in and the characters in this book. It’s why I decided to do my written assignment on this book.

This month is a crazy month; I have camp in a week, and after that I have to complete my Eye Camp as part of my task for the student council. I also have SAT prep to do, dance rehearsals and I have to study for my first mid-terms that happen next month; they really count for my university applications. However, I’m looking forward to it. Now with my improved time management, I’m excited to see how this month goes and how well things go according to plan. If they don’t, I need to re-think how I’m going to go on with the rest of the year.

You shall see me again at the end of the month with a status report. Until then, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

