A Court of Thorns and Roses | Book Review

After waiting nearly two months, I finally laid my hands on A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. This is my first Sarah J. Maas book and my friends having been pushing me to read the Throne of Glass series, so that’s on my TBR after SAT in October. This is my spoiler-free review of the book.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a modern re-telling of Beauty and the Beast. Feyre is a nineteen year old human huntress who kills a wolf, who also happens to be a faerie. A beast from the faerie realm comes to take her as her punishment, but he’s not a beast, he’s Tamlin. While Feyre is allowed to roam, she’s not allowed to escape, and as she bides her time, she is drawn more and more to Tamlin, despite all the warnings about his kind. Something horrible haunts Tamlin and the rest of Prythian, and it’s upto Feyre to stop it.

I absolutely loved the writing. It was written in first person from Feyre’s point of view. The writing flows really well and it’s very quick-paced. Her choice of words is also impeccable and her descriptions are very vivid. The writing was definitely a huge merit in this book. There were some bits where her writing lagged a little bit and the descriptions kind of got heavy. Other than that, I had no issues with the writing.

The characters in this book were amazing! I loved all of them and they were all so intriguing and unique. I will be reviewing four characters, even though there are six. Two of them are spoiler-y.

Firstly, there’s Feyre, who is a survivor. She is the only person in her family willing to do anything to make sure her family survives. When she’s captured by Tamlin, I felt really bad for her because she seemed so helpless and lost, and her past didn’t allow her to trust anyone, but her whining and lack of trust begins to get on my nerves because it’s overdone. But, she’s strong, resilient, and her love drives her to do things that are impressive and just downright awesome. I loved her by the end of the book and I can’t wait to read more about her and her story in the next book.

Next, my favorite of them all, Tamlin. Tamlin is one of my fictional baes, I’m saying it now itself. Where do I begin with Tamlin? He is so nice from the beginning but the way we’re introduced to him, you’re not supposed to trust him, so his generosity was a little weird for me. He’s a broken character with a terrible past and this amazing plot twist. He’s caring and has a big heart and will do anything for Feyre. He is my favorite character and I want to read so much more about him in the next book.

The next character is Lucien, Tamlin’s emissary. Lucien is an absolute dick at the beginning of the book and I freakin’ hated him for like the first quarter of the book, but he becomes really nice and really helps Feyre out when she needs it. He cracks jokes at the most inappropriate of times and gets caught up in Feyre’s and Tamlin’s story. He’s a great friend after all of what happens and I really, really like him. I hope to find out more about him and his story in the next book.

Lastly, we have Feyre’s family, which is her dad, and her two sisters, Nesta and Elain. For the first half of the book, I hate the family. They’re so selfish and won’t do anything to help Feyre. But, they really come around in the end, especially Nesta. The family has been through a lot and reading about their downfall was absolutely heartbreaking. There was no closure about them in this book so I’m hoping we see more of them in the next book.

I absolutely enjoyed reading about Feyre and Tamlin and the whole situation of the Spring Court. I don’t want to wait till May of next year for the next book.

I will warn you, there are sex scenes and some inappropriate language, so if you’re not comfortable with that kind of stuff, be careful. However, don’t let this warning stop you from reading the book, A Court of Thorns and Roses is absolutely worth it. I hope you pick it up and read it.

Final verdict: 4.5/5 stars

I will be back soon with more of my musings about books and life. Until then, I hope you have a great morning, afternoon or night, wherever in the world you may be.

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses | Book Review

Leave a Reply

