f o u r

It’s the end of another action-packed, insane month. It’s just been one thing after another, and I’m just glad I made it out alive. Despite all the chaos and stress, I’ve loved every second of it. That’s me; I love it when things are insane and there’s so much to do. It’s better than sitting idle and not knowing what to do with life.

The month started off with Teachers’ Day. We had to go to school in sarees and pretend to be teachers. Teachers’ Day is one of the highlights of senior year because of the sarees and taking responsibility (though, we’re quite irresponsible, mind you). Everybody got all sentimental because it was senior year and everybody was running around saying “One last time”. Like, hello, you never had a Teachers’ Day before this. That night was also Ishira’s party.

I also had mid-terms that were crucial because they counted towards predicted grades which go to college and I’m flipping because I don’t know how my predicted grades will turn out. These exams were quite stressful and there was a lot of pressure to do well, but I think it turned out okay.

Amongst my mid-terms was my dance performance, which was definitely the highlight of the year. There is something about dancing on stage, or actually just dancing in general, that makes me so happy. I love the costumes and the music and the lights and just the rush for performing for people. I just love how dancing transports me to another world, and for a little bit, I can forget about everything.

The great thing is I’ll be performing in school later on in October and I get to perform again in November.

And finally, it all ended with my SAT which I took one last time yesterday. I’m doing Early Decision to Claremont McKenna and this is my last shot at getting it right. My essays and extra curriculars and recommendation letters are going along fine, it all comes down to my predicted grades and my SAT score. I have my fingers crossed that everything goes okay and I get in. It’d be my dream to do Economics at Claremont.

A lot of people have asked me what I want to do after undergrad. I know I want to work for two-three years before I go to grad school. But what I want to do specifically is what I’m unsure about. I’m considering a minor in Spanish and maybe working with Spanish immigrants, like the ones that come from Mexico. Work with an organization or something of that sort and help them get their credentials in order. Maybe even work for the government and do the same thing.

Or I can do Sports Economics. Though there is no specific program at CMC for it, I feel like an Economics degree might help. My mom was telling me about how I can work with sports teams or companies like the NFL or MLB, and help them with their finances and help get sponsors. She said it’d be good for me because I love following sports and doing this would help me get up close and personal with the world of sport. Some perks are free merchandise, I can travel and I might get to score a hot sportsman. My mom even said that I could come to India during summers and work with the IPL ( it is one of my favorite times of year).

With an Economics degree, there are a lot of options for me so I’m really excited to see what comes my way. I want to spend 2-3 years just experimenting with the different things I can do with an Eco degree and then go to grad school and specialize in the one thing that I wouldn’t mind doing for the rest of my life.

On a side note, high school has been very high school-y lately because our rumor mill has been churning some scandalous stuff out, stuff I cannot mention, unfortunately.

Rumors are quite crap because I’ve seen friendships and relationships being ruined because of one falsified story. But I’m pretty sure that if those two people were friends (or really liked each other), the rumor would’ve never gotten into the way.

I’m so glad that my SAT and all of that is out of the way. To celebrate, I went out with a friend to lunch and we then watched The Martian (movie review coming soon!) and then went for Starbucks. I also treated myself to a binge-read of City of Lost Souls. Just one more book to go in the series and then I’m on to the Throne of Glass Series.

I’m glad that September finally came because a lot of shows came back from their summer. I started Scream Queens, Limitless, Quantico and Gossip Girl (even though it is like 100 years old). I continued with Modern Family and Friends.

All in all, it’s been a good, action-filled month. October will be no less because of college apps and Leadership Week at school. Kind of excited, though.

See you around. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

