s i x | 2 0 1 6

First of all, Happy ’16 to all of you! I hope you have an amazing year ahead, and all of your dreams come true!

This explanation behind me going AWOL was supposed to be up yesterday, but it didn’t happen, and for that, I am truly sorry.

The last we met was at the beginning of November, and a lot has happened since then, therefore causing my absolute lack of presence.

November and December were hectic months because of college applications and school internal deadlines for submissions. Plus, we had a bunch of other activities that took up a lot of time, and I’d come home and be swamped with stuff to do.

I spent all of November applying to college, and I spent half of December waiting for admission decisions, which worked out pretty okay for me. I didn’t get into Claremont McKenna, and Santa Clara deferred me. However, I come bearing good news: I got into Case Western Reserve! Plus, I got $45,000 in aid, which is awesome! I got into college – it’s an unreal feeling, and I feel like I’ve achieved something in life, and the fear of not getting into college is gone. It’s like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

In between all of this, I had MUN in school, where I represented Hungary in the UNHCR where we debated the Syrian Refugee Crisis. I got to yell at people, it was fun.

I also had Sports Day, which was the last for me because of senior year. I’m definitely going to miss the house spirit and all of that, but I will definitely not miss march past in the hot sun. Ironically enough, in December, the hottest days are the days we have march past practice. I don’t understand why.

I spent a lot of my Christmas break in Bombay with my dad and sister, where I shopped and ate to my heart’s content. It was the perfect reward for college, and it felt so good, and deserved, more than anything.

But, the best night was New Years Eve night, where I danced the night away with my friends. It was a much needed night together because next year we’re not going to be together, because of college and whatnot. We stayed up till 7 watching movies, taking BuzzFeed quizzes and just having deep talks about life. One of the best nights of my life so far.

I’m so excited for this new year, and all the adventures it’s going to bring: graduation, senior prom, my boards, and being a freshman again at college. This is going to be a big year and I cannot wait!

I don’t have any resolutions for this year like eat healthy and all that stuff. I know I’ll never stick to them, so what’s the point? However, I do have more sensible and practical resolutions: be happy with everything that I do, and to not regret anything.

I hope you guys have a great year ahead!

Leave a Reply

