January Wrap-Up 

All the details on the books I read this month:

  1. The first book I read this month was Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid. It was a very cute book about two high schoolers trying to have the ultimate high school experience by taking part in cliches. I really enjoyed the book; the story was unique and well-written, the characters were well-developed, and the book flowed smoothly and quickly. It was a good read, and a good start to my year. I gave it a 4/5 stars. (Book review here!)
  2. The next book I read was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This book is about a girl’s struggle to be her own person in college while trying to balance her love for Simon Snow and fanfic writing, and a particularly charming boy who’s always in her room. I was a little skeptical about going into this book because I’d read Eleanor & Park by Rowell and I was disappointed so I wasn’t too sure about what to expect from this one. I was definitely surprised! My friends loved it, and I decided to give it a try, and I’m glad I did. The characters were adorable, the story was relatable and well-written, and it moved quickly. I particularly liked the switch between the main character’s POV and excerpts from her Simon Snow fanfic (along with snippets from actual Simon Snow novels). I thought this was a great read and I definitely recommend it! My final verdict was 4.5/5 stars. (Book review is up here)
  3. I started The Single Girl’s To-Do List by Lindsey Kelk. Newly-single Rachel doesn’t know how to be single, but with the help of her friends, she realizes being single may be one of the best things to ever happen to her. I’m a little more that halfway through this and definitely enjoying it. It’s funny and light, and the characters are hilarious! The language is British English so there are some words and some jokes I don’t get but other than that it’s an enjoyable book. I hope to finish it in February.

That’s my wrap-up for the month. Let me know down below what you read this month and what you thought of those books. Also, if you’ve read any of the books mentioned, let me know down below what you thought of them. February TBR coming soon!

Leave a Reply

