April Wrap-Up + Book Haul

Hello, you guys! I know it’s a little early to be doing a wrap-up but I will not be doing any more reading for this month because of my upcoming finals, so I thought I’d share my wrap-up with you before I get swamped with finals. (May TBR will be up very soon!) Before I get into what I read this month, I just want to share with you the books I purchased this month. I bought 3 books this month:

  1. The first book I bought was Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. This is the second book in the Red Queen series. I absolutely loved the first one, and I flew through it when I read it in the summer of 2015, so I was really excited to get my hands on this one. I was supposed to get it last month when it actually released but it was only released on Amazon this month.
  2. The next book I bought was Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I’ve really been trying to get into historical fiction, and I heard such amazing things about this book so I decided to buy it. Salt to the Sea takes place in 1945 towards the end of the Second World War as the Red Army is starting to advance on Germany. Thousands of refugees are trying to flee by getting onto the Wilhelm Gustloff. This book follows four refugees whose lives converge. It’s told in switching points of view and the back of the book says it’s been inspired by the worst disaster in maritime history.
  3. The last book I picked up this month was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This book did come out a while ago but I only bought this because I’ve been trying to get into historical fiction. My bookstore classified The Book Thief as young adult and Salt to the Sea is adult fiction, so I want to see how the genre is treated in different categories. This is also set in Germany in 1939 just as the war is beginning. It follows Liesel who lives with her foster family, but her family is taken away to a concentration camp. She steals books to try and survive and this book follows her journey through the war. The most interesting part about this book is that it’s narrated by death!

Those were the books I bought. Now for the books I read:

  1. I finished Tales from Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman. It’s a series of 10 e-only novellas that follow Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments at the newly re-opened Shadowhunter Academy. I have a full review of the series up here, so you can go check it out if you’d like my thoughts on the entire series and each novella. I gave it an overall 4.5/5 stars because I really enjoyed the series, but a few novellas in between were a little disappointing which is why it didn’t get the full 5 stars. I definitely recommend reading this series after you’ve read The Mortal Instruments (and The Infernal Devices) before moving onto Lady Midnight.

Well, that’s all I read this month. I have two weeks off before finals begin first week of May so I want to spend as much time as I can studying. I was really tempted to start Lady Midnight but I decided against it.

Well, that’s it for this post! My May TBR will be up very, very soon! I hope you guys liked this post! Let me know what you read this month, and if you’ve read any of the books I mentioned let me know what you thought!

See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

