How to Take Part in Reading Challenges | Thursday Tip Day

Hello! I was making my Summer TBR and going through my Goodreads Reading Challenge to see what books I’d read and what I planned on reading when I thought I’d do a Thursday Tip Day post on Reading Challenges. As readers, we take part in a host of reading challenges; some of us like to keep it simple by taking part in reading challenges that keep count of our books, such as the Goodreads Reading Challenge. Some of us like to expand our reading preferences and experiment with other genres by taking part in challenges such as the Popsugar Ultimate Reading Challenge. Though these challenges are very different from each other, tackling these challenges is virtually the same.

Last year, I was unable to complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge, so this year, to be able to complete my challenge, I did a few easy but effective things that I’d love to share with you:

  1. One of the most important things in tackling a reading challenge is setting a goal for the number of books you want to read this year. If you choose to do the Goodreads Reading Challenge, choose a number of books you’d like to read this year. Be realistic; don’t set your goal to be 100 books when you know you’ll only be able to get through 40 by the time the year ends. At the same time, make your goal a little challenging; don’t set your goal to be 10 books if you know you can read more than that. By setting a goal, you make your reading more specific, and it becomes much easier to plan.
  2. Once you’ve set a reading goal for yourself, create a tentative TBR for that challenge. I did this for my reading challenge at the beginning of the year where I made a list of all the books I wanted to read this year, including re-reads. This list doesn’t have to be final and can change as the year progresses based on what your reading preferences are and based on book release dates and other stuff like that. This makes tackling the challenge a lot easier because you now have a set list of books that you want to read rather than randomly picking books.
  3. After you’ve created a TBR and have started your challenge, keep track of your reading dates. Note down your starting date, ending date and the halfway point. This allows you to pace yourself and also anticipate the amount of time it’ll take you to read a book of a similar size. It’ll also tell you how long you’re taking and how much time you should be spending on a book depending on its size. This way, you are able to change your goal if required and also change some of the books on your TBR. This allows you to make the most of the time you’ve devoted to the challenge.

Those are my tips to help you take part in a reading challenge! I’m currently taking part in the Goodreads Reading Challenge which you can keep track of here and here. I hope these tips do help you, and if you have any tips of your own, do share them with me!

That’s all for this post. If you liked this post and would like to get other such fun, cool bookish posts then don’t forget to subscribe to my blog, it’d really help me!

I shall see you soon with another post, most likely my Summer TBR, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Leave a Reply

