How to Enjoy Required Reading | Thursday Tip Day

I am sorry this is late, but I was out of town on my senior class trip, and I only got back today. I didn’t have the time to schedule this post before I left. Again, my apologies. 

‘Required reading’ has always sounded daunting and in most cases, we don’t generally enjoy required reading in school or college. Initially, in middle school and in my first two years of high school, I wasn’t particularly fond of the books we were assigned, but as I got into my last two years of high school, I actually began to enjoy required reading.

People don’t enjoy required reading for a whole host of reasons; they don’t like the pressure of reading a certain amount within a set amount of time, some people read ahead of the class and get bored during class discussions, and in a lot cases, students simply don’t like the books assigned because they’re generally not the ones students would pick up in their free time. However, it is really easy to get into required reading, and I’m going to share a few of my own tips with you:

  1. My first tip is to research the books you’ve been assigned. In most schools and universities, you receive the list of books assigned before the school year or semester begins. Do some research about these books; their summaries, their authors, the time periods they were set in. Doing research about the book will give you some information about the books rather than going to class blind, without any knowledge of the book. Doing research should also pique your interest in the book and get you in the mood to read the book.
  2. My second tip is to read actively. This means underlining quotes, highlighting turning points, making notes in the margins of your book to make note of stylistic and literary devices. When you read actively you pay more attention to what you’re reading and this will help you develop more interest in the book.
  3. My third tip is to read ahead of your class. Now, this tip may not work for everyone because some people choose not to read ahead because they fear they will get bored in class during discussion. However, personally, I like to read ahead because it gives me better insight into a character’s personality, or the reasons behind why they made a specific decision. This will also allow you to take more part in class discussions and provide a unique, more in-depth perspective that your classmates may not have to offer.
  4. My fourth tip carries over from the previous one, and that is to be active during class discussions. Class discussions are really helpful because they allow you to voice your own opinions, but also get opinions from your classmates and pick up on some details that you may have missed out on while you were reading. Again, this should help you develop more interest in the book.
  5. My last tip is to have questions for your teacher. It is very likely that your teacher would’ve read the book a lot more times than you did, and they may have a very interesting and unique take on a character or plot point. Your teacher’s insight should help you develop more interest in the book.

These are my tips to help you enjoy required reading! Do try them out and let me know what you think, and whether or not they work for you. I hope you enjoyed this post, and I hope these tips help you.

If you enjoyed this post, and would like to see more of these kinds, don’t forget to subscribe to my post, it’ll be very helpful!

I will see you soon with another fun, bookish post, so until then, I hope you have a great morning, afternoon or night wherever in the world you may be.

Leave a Reply

